Information bank for Entrance Exams and Career Guidance
Home Products Exams Date Educational News Admission Notification GK Scholarships Online Entrance Exam Forum Jobs

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee Scholarship 2008

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee Scholarship 2008

IIT, Roorkee invites applications/nominations for the following Research Awards for the year 2008

  • Khosla National Award
  • A.S. Arya? IITR Disaster Prevention Award
  • Shamsher Prakash Research Award
  • V. N. M. M. Award
  • Mahesh Varma Construction Research Award

Details and more information may be obtained from:?

Assistant Registrar (PGS&R)
Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Roorkee ? 247 667 (India)
Ph:(01332) 285098;
Fax: (01332) 273560

1. Khosla National Award

Khosla National Award of Rs. 51,000/- is given annually to an eminent Engineer/Scientist/Technologist from various disciplines for lifetime achivement irrespective of their association with IIT Roorkee.

The award will also include a citation and a gold medal.The award will be open to Indian Nationals only, for original research work and/or application to real life problems for the work done in India.

2. A.S. Arya?Iitr Disaster Prevention Award

The award is made for outstanding contribution in the area of Disaster Prevention / Mitigation. The term disaster shall include all types of Natural Disasters, Earthquakes, Cyclones, Floods, Land Slides, Forest Fires and Snow Avalanche.

The Annual Award consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/-.

  • The award is open to citizens of India, Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh and will be given on the work done in one or more of these countries.
  • He/She shall have distinguished himself/herself through outstanding work and internationally recognized action, going beyond the scope of his/her normal functions in one or more of the following
  • The implementation at national or regional level, of activities designed to strengthen people?s awareness of natural disasters.
  • The launching of scientific activities contributing to technological innovation facilitating disaster prediction.
  • The launching of scientific activities contributing to the strengthening disaster prevention and preparedness.
  • The promotion of activities which reduce the economic impact of disasters and which contribute to sustainable developments.
  • Other activities integrating disaster prevention and preparedness into development planning.
  • The award may be given to an individual or a group of individuals for outstanding joint effort in the above areas.

3. Shamsher Prakash Research Award

The Annual Award is made for outstanding work in the field of Geotechnical and/or Geotechnical?Earthquake Engineering.

It consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/? and is open to a renowned young Indian Engineer, Scientist or Researcher who has not completed 45 years of age on Jan.01,2008.

The award will be primarily based on the research work done in the past five calender years.

(Self Nominations may also be accepted for Shamsher Prakash Research Award)

4. V. N. M. M. Award

The annual Award of Rs. 30,000 and a citation to an eminent Engineer for Innovactive and Creative Work in the field of Engineering in India in any discipline to Indian National for this work done in India.

Students, research workers, faculty members and staff of the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (formerly University of Roorkee) and alumni of the erstwhile University of Roorkee or its predecessor Thomson College of Engineering are eligible for the Award.

The candidates should submit four copies of the reprints of the research papers along with the application. The maximum number of papers which may be submitted by a person (either in single or joint authorship) for this award, shall be two.

5. Mahesh Varma Construction Research Award

One biennial Award of Rs. 15,000/- is made for outstanding contribution by a young Engineer, Technologist or Scientist of Indian nationality through original research for innovations in the field of Construction Technology and Construction Management categorised by Theoretical Work or Applied Research done in India during the five years preceding the year of Award.

Nominations are invited for all the above Awards except serial number 5 from any of the following authorities in the proforma availabe at Institute website Self Nomination will also be accepted

  1. Director and Ex?Director, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee.
  2. Ex?Vice Chancellors of the erstwhile University of Roorkee.
  3. Presidents of National Scientific and Engineering Academics & Societies.
  4. Vice Chancellors of Universities, Deans of Faculties of Science, Engineering & Technology,Principals of Engineering Colleges / School of Architecture & Planning.
  5. Directors and Deans of Faculties of IITs/ Institutes/ Deemed Universities/ BARC.
  6. Secretaries of Departments, Ministries dealing with Science and Technology.
  7. Directors of National Research Laboratories.

The Last Date For Receiving Application/Nomination/Self Nomination is June 30, 2008

Note: Please visit the Institute website: for detailed information concerning awards and application forms.

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee Scholarship 2008

Related Web Pages
Copyright © 2007 - 2010 Genuine Infotech Private Limited - Software Development and Software Outsourcing Company in India
Feel free to Contact us  for your Outsourcing Software development Job Work from India